DIY Prints

Well, another weekend has come and gone. Although I worked this weekend, I was happy to have Friday off! I am so overly excited that I will have my first home office/craft room come May! I offered Andrew the garage… so I think that’s a fair trade, right? I know I want a clean space with a beautiful white Parsons desk. I hope to have all of my craft supplies conveniently stored in the closet (I’m a dreamer). I want to order a few inspirational prints from Lara Casey’s shop (shown in my last post) but also wanted some DIY prints. What I love about framed prints is that you can easily store them in a folder and switch them out, depending on season or mood.

For Valentine’s Day, I used my Cricut to create a die cut print that said “KISS” and “XO”. They were so easy and fun! I didn’t need to use Cricut Craft Room but if you did it would look something like this:

Screen Shot 2013-02-24 at 8.32.17 PMI used my “Plantin Schoolbook” cartridge and font size 3  to get the letters (“LOVE”) large enough for a 8.5 x 11 cardstock. For “KISS” I used size 5 1/2 because it was on 12 x 12 cardstock.

photo

imageCheesy photo alert! (I didn’t have any photos of my “KISS” print framed.. except this one :)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAYou could use your die cut letters inverted, too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next print I created was not very original, but it was easy and fun! I have seen so much inspiration for a painting like this on Pinterest & was happy to finally have some time to try it out! I can’t wait to do it again in the colors that I want my home office to have!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What do you think? I love how simple this painting technique is! It is great for anyone who uses color for inspiration! Just a few brush strokes will give you an idea of what color palette might (or might not) work for your next project! I will definitely be doing this again!

xo,

T

2 thoughts on “DIY Prints

  1. Love the paint strokes one, so what if it has been done on Pinterest a ton, it is still adorable!!

    And oh how I dream of a White Parson’s Desk. Cannot wait to see how your home office develops!

Leave a Reply

