Making Things Happen 2013

MTH_LC

This Spring is full of so many changes for me. I will begin life as married woman, move to a new & unfamiliar city, start a new career and attend Making Things Happen Intensive in Chapel Hill, NC. Each of these are very exciting and very scary for me. I am so happy that I will be attending MTH because it has been something I’ve been interested in for a long time (but always chickened out). I had many, completely valid excuses.. :)

“Not the right time”

“It’s too far”

“I don’t have the money”

“I just have SO much going on right now”

“I’m not good enough”

“Those people are out of my league”

“I have nothing to bring to the table”

Shall I continue? Haha. But 2013 is different for me. I don’t mean that like the early January crowd at the gym. I feel different lately and I am actually happy to admit my faults. I am more conciously aware of the things I want to change. And I am more driven then ever. Andrew is a big reason for this. Having someone who loves and supports me so much has given me that extra push I needed.

There are so many things that I am passionate about but, like many others, I haven’t found a way to make a career out of them. It’s extremely frustrating and discouraging to work in a field that you know you weren’t meant for. It’s heart breaking to think that you have no purpose. I know that some of the things I am passionate about, others find petty or unfulfilling. 2013 is about finding that balance. Doing what I love and what makes me happy, but still giving back and helping others.

acfcb0f8791fa803b98914b350d53790

af18ab195b7b255e29e1fe816ae6aeaa

I have been working during the day to earn a buck and spending late nights creating my dream job. Now that I have started to focus and zero in on my passions, I am discovering what is rational and DOABLE. Working on a business plan while working & trying to plan a wedding hasn’t been the easiest. But if it was easy, it wouldn’t be worth it, right?

So, I am going into MTH next month head first. I cannot wait to learn from so many inspiring individuals, gain experience, knowledge, faith and new friends.  This is what it’s all about!

Wish me luck,

T

[p.s. the beautiful hand lettering print up top can be found at Lara Casey’s Shop and the inspirational quotes are on her blog!]

13 thoughts on “Making Things Happen 2013

  1. Loved your post!!!! I agree with all this and am also so excited to attend!!!! It’s funny all those excuses ALMOST made me decide not to go but I am so happy I decided the regret I would feel would be worse than anything! See you there :)

  2. We are TWINS! I too am getting married, starting a new career, moving to a new town. Unfortunately – not going to MTH but maybe another year. :/ Adding you to my list of blogs to read :) You go girl! XOX

  3. I’m so glad you shared this post! I feel the same exact way (and I’m going to be at MTH too!). I used excuses for too long and finally decided, that THIS is my year (OUR year) – I’m going to Make Things Happen. Can’t wait to meet you.

  4. Oh girl, I so relate to this! Love this part especially “Having someone who loves and supports me so much has given me that extra push I needed.” Yes! Can’t wait to meet you in just a couple weeks.

Leave a Reply

